The Reluctent Fundamentalist

The Reluctent Fundamentalist by Mohsin Hamid

I picked this book up several months ago, not sure when I would work it into my reading schedule. But once I started reading two days ago, I immediately wished I had read it sooner. It is immensely engaging, thoughtful and thought-provoking. It is a story that strives to explain, on a small level, the hostility that our nation, and Western society more broadly, faces. It is not always an easy read, and by that, I don’t mean that the text is unclear or excessive. Perhaps I should say it is at times an uncomfortable read because of the issues raised. Reading this book, of course, won’t bring about world peace or extract our soldiers from Iraq, or undo all the damage wrought by terrorism, but it might give pause next time news reports or radio pundits paint the people of the Middle and Near East with a broad brush. I highly recommend this book.

Leave a Reply

