An Image of Christ

I’m currently reading The Sutras of Abu Ghraib by Aidan Delgado. I’ll have more thoughts on it later this week. For now I just wanted to share a story from early in the book.

A young Iraqi boy was taken prisoner by US forces early in the war. His family had been killed and he was found wandering around the wrong place at the wrong time. He cried constantly during his captivity, unsure of what would happen to him. An Army chaplain, a Christian, who was assigned to the prison and not speaking any Arabic, simply sat with the boy and cried with him.

I often struggle with the question of evil in the world. I know all the orthodox answers and such – I’m not looking for a discussion of theodicy. Still, the issue bothers me. But one thing I do fine comfort in is that as a Christian, I worship a God who suffers with man. God is not merely content to stay up above and watch. Instead, he became a man and shared in our suffering. He first did this in the person of Jesus of Nazareth. It continues (or at least, it should)  in the Church, which is to be the Body of Christ on Earth. This chaplain displayed an image of Christ in that prison in Iraq. It was as powerful an image of the Savior as I’ve ever seen.

Leave a Reply

