Cars

Here’s an interesting piece on America’s addiction to cars – not just the fossil fuel based kinds. For the last year, I’ve lived in the heart of downtown Indy and much to my delight, have considerably lowered my dependence on my four-tired friend. Walking to work, to the grocery store, to Indy’s shiny new library, to my place of worship has been a wonderful experience, even when the weather is less than perfect. As the article makes clear, there are more advantages to a life of auto non-dependence than the financial gains.

However, I am in the process of moving back to Plainfield, the suburb of my childhood; my auto dependence will soon begin again in earnest. This article in the Indy Star offers some hope. A transit line from the airport to downtown Indy seems like a no-brainer.

Leave a Reply

