Politics, Vodka, Metamucil

As more and more information comes out about the scale and scope of the systematic nature of abuse and torture by US officials, I find myself wondering – how long will it be before I can, in good conscience, vote for a Republican? Am I alone in this feeling? In every election in which I’ve participated, I have voted for a mixture of Republican  and Democrats, though generally more Republicans than Democrats (this is Indiana after all). It all depends on the individual candidate. But this time I feel that the GOP as a whole should be held responsible for the gross abuses of power over the last 7 or so years. I’m closer to just wanting to pull the Democratic lever and be done with it. Am I overreacting?  I guess it just boils down to the idea that I can’t consider myself a Republican as long as George W. Bush and Dick Cheney are considered such. It’s too onerous.

Just to reinforce my disdain, from reading the conservative blogosphere this week, you’d think the most serious issue facing the nation was advertisements for intoxicating spirits. Either that or the lack of fiber in the diets of many who, clearly, have no sense of humor. Metamucil – it works wonders, people.

Leave a Reply

